Fabular Facebook

This is a true story.

I HATE Facebook. Four months ago I deleted myself – Poof! Gone. I felt liberated from the diving platforms of opinions and the parallel bars of never intersecting lives. I felt like a montgolfier looking down – yes DOWN – at the mess below, saying so-long, suckers.

Then I signed up for an on-line writing class. Wouldntya know, the discussion group is on Facebook. aaaRGH! I created a fake me, presented myself to the moderator of the group who promptly denied access because it wasn’t the same name I used to sign up for the course. D’uh. An elephantine cloud of profanity formed in the dining room, home of the family computer, which rained down F – U – C – K’s on innocent bystanders (resulting in this linguistic collateral damage: “If you’re allowed to say that, so am I.” said the 20 year old.) I logged out, my fingers smashing the keys like a jackhammer. The dining room emptied.

I had a cup of chamomile tea with a Jameson’s chaser and tried to log back in to explain myself to the moderator. Password? PASSWORD? No, I couldn’t remember it even though it had been less than an hour since I was born again. Facebook locked me out, demanding I present a piece of government issued ID with my (fake) name and they’d give me entry, as though Facebook was Ali Baba’s cave full of glittering boodle. The profanity cumulonimbus opened again.

Lesson learned? Be true. If I re-enter that world, I must be me. And so, my dear 8, or maybe 10, readers, this is who I am – The Artist Formerly Known as Menomama3 (thanks Harmonious Stew for that moniker), aka Susanne Fletcher.

Wouldn’t you agree this was a fabular experience?

(PS: Thanks also to the mysterious soul who shared this blog on Facebook. Suddenly my stats of 4 daily views doubled. That was nice.Facebook’s light side.)

11 thoughts on “Fabular Facebook

  1. I left Facebook three year’s back. There is so much I can’t do now – like register for this or that. It can be done “only through Facebook”. Also, I left WP (as you know) and returned (because I missed it). In leaving I dumped over several thousand followers. I now have a handful of faithful readers (like 4!) It is the “liking” and “commenting” that gets me down. And even though I write something everyday, I like to get a month or so ahead. That is not a problem for me. “Liking” and “commenting” is compulsive. I hate it. 😦 But keep writing Susanne. Those pieces (O Lady Smock) are fabulous.

    • Yes, FB is ubiquitous and yet it is so unsatisfying. I’m glad you’re back on WP. What is it that you missed? I admit I like the likes and it is gratifying to have people reading (I hope) the stuff I crank out. It compensates a bit for the time spent writing alone. I like Harry and his Lady, too. More to come on that front, I ‘spect.

  2. I knew you was you, Susanne….your froggy gravater popped up where the other one used to be, among my blog’s comments. I never did subscribe to Facebook; this leaves me out of a lot of (useless) information….even about friends and relatives, who seem to “interact” only there. And now, with spring coming on, I am seized with an urge to do a serious cleaning-out—scraping off some of the barnacles that seem to have become attached. I’m too old and too uninterested in technology, themes, and other WP crap to start over. Think I’ll just alienate a few followers..not that I have all that many. Anyway, I like this new blog of yours. Hope you do too. You’re a gifted writer and thinker….difficult, in these times when everyone is suddenly a writer and an artist…NOT.

    • I understand the need to retreat, Cynthia. I clean out and clean up regularly and I’m amazed I still have any friends/followers at all. I hope you don’t go, but completely understand if you do.

      I like this new blog although I’m not sure how long I can sustain posting something every day even though I give myself a time and word limit.

      Thanks for your kind words. They mean a lot.

"The river flows both ways." (Margaret Laurence)

