To sleep, perchance to dream

It came like a Normandy brume and stuck. Sometimes she heard Harry’s foghorn voice, shushed as though by waves slurring over sand. His concern made her cry.

Why it was called the black dog she didn’t know. It was light without sight, like being drunk in the daylight without her glasses.

Sick of herself, she turned to YouTube for inspiration, a terrible mistake. The #1 song on the uplifting playlist made her heave and weep until dehydrated.

Propelled by wind, assaulted by switches of yellow, and struck by space, she walked until night settled her dreaded daylight terrors. Soon, sleep.

Broom

Broom

12 thoughts on “To sleep, perchance to dream

    • I like a good nap where it’s so deep you drool on your pillow. Poor Lady Smock uses it as escape, I’m afraid.

      Like

  1. “Sick of herself, she turned to YouTube for inspiration, a terrible mistake. The #1 song on the uplifting playlist made her heave and weep until dehydrated.”

    It’s lines like these that make me envy you as a writer. 😀

    Like

    • When I saw today’s word and the meaning, I heard it spoken in my head with a French accent, with the “r” stuck-in-your-throat sound and saw Normandy beaches. I think I need a vacation, Donna.

      Like

  2. Lovely, poetic. Hamlet-ish, indeed. So interesting to be typing this in a comment box under your kite quotation from Winston Churchill. He had a serious problem with depression, I’ve read, and always referred to it as his “black dog.”

    Like

    • I can’t slip anything by you, Cynthia. That’s exactly where I learned the expression “black dog”. I think it was the Martin Gilbert biography of Churchill where I came across it.

      Like

  3. Well I guess then that gorse is Scotch broom. I’m not a botanist – over here broom doesn’t have prickles, and gorse does. (5% of New Zealand is covered in introduced gorse – it’s the biggest pain in the bottom). None of this detracts from the wonderful story above however!

    Like

    • Likewise, it is the scourge of Vancouver Island, along with deer. I think it’s beautiful and hanker for it every spring. It’s in bloom right now. Sigh.

      Like

Comments are closed.