Have you heard…

about Storybird? A friend, Rosanna at Writing on the Pages of Life, told her readers about it some time back and I thought it sounded like a whole heckuvalotta fun.

I decided Harry Bittercress and Lady Smock needed visuals to go with their stories so off I went looking. Sadly, I could not find artwork to represent an older couple, as Harry and his Dame most definitely are, but I did find a few drawings that capture the spirit of this particular story.

The drawback to this medium is that if you already have a written story it is hard to find appropriate visuals. However, I do see huge possibilities for browsing the images as a way to stimulate ideas and write new stories.

Have a look and let me know what you think.

14 thoughts on “Have you heard…

  1. Susanne, I am in awe of how your writing brain works! I love the way you wove the story and the illustrations…but my sympathies go to Lady Smock. All that pain…oh my she seems to be exhibiting battered wife syndrome 😦

    • They’ve been together a long time, Rosanna. The hurts – imagined, real, hypothetical – add up and, as we know, they take their toll on a body even if they’re all in our heads.

  2. I’d really like to see them – but my computer ‘can’t establish a secure connection to storybird.com’ – is there any other way of seeing them?

    • Hmm. Someone else was having difficulty, too. I don’t know the answer to your question. One of the issues with the site is the length of time it takes to “moderate” newly created books. If you don’t pay the subscription fee it takes 5-7 days for it to be moderated and available to the public. Maybe that’s the issue. Here’s the web address if you’d just like to browse the site: https://storybird.com/

    • I think I’m going to start a spreadsheet on the story. I’m starting to lose track of the highs and lows and the mortal wounds! Glad the link is working.

    • You’ve no idea how delighted I am to hear that, Bruce!

      Illustration is definitely risky business because you’re right – everyone has pictures in their own minds of what the characters look like.

"The river flows both ways." (Margaret Laurence)

