Seytan Robb – Hooker

After the logging accident Seytan Robb was stuck. He had been a “hooker”, an irony cousin Vero would eventually note in the obituary and snigger about with Harry in private moments. His medical marijuana cost him the small inheritance from his fucking useless old man. In six hazy months, he’d burned through every nickel. When the smoke cleared, he looked around the llama farm, the extensive gardens now over run with unmarketable weeds, and at his shriveled right arm and leg and panicked. Run_down

The worst part of his condition was he’d never play the bass guitar again. Yeah, he could still sing but he might as well be a canary that couldn’t fly. It wasn’t that Seytan really liked music, more the effect it had on women. Its lubricating qualities beat the shit out of gin and tonic. When combined with a gaze of his green eyes and a well-timed half-smile, a fuck was guaranteed. Guaran-fuckin’-teed. He was a fucking god. Past tense. Game over. He was fucking screwed.

Then a month ago, a letter with a UK postmark arrived from a cousin, Veronica Smock-Speedwell, asking if he knew of any employment opportunities in Canada for her and her partner, Harry Bittercress. They had, she said, extensive experience in estate management. She was a whiz with account keeping and an expert Excel spreadsheet user. Harry, she added, was an energetic gardener.

A photo was enclosed. Not bad looking for an old fox – 50 to 60, he guessed. Was she fucking for real?

(Created for Chuck Wendig’s “character” challenge.)

12 thoughts on “Seytan Robb – Hooker

  1. Very cool. I like how you’ve shown someone at what should be their lowest ebb and still somehow showed a glimpse of a future where they’re about to sink a LOT lower… hoping he gets schooled or crashes hard, one way or the other. Great character

    • I’m hoping someone runs with this. It’s always fun to see how other people interpret the things that come from your imagination. Like you, D.R., I have no idea where this will go next which is a whole lotta fun.

  2. no “reply” button for my comment….but I do think that empathy with a well-drawn character is a subtle thing, and more complex than resorting to a type…..this guy is a fuckin’ cartoon. But maybe that’s what you’re after. 🙂

    • Everything I do on this site is practice and often as not I have no idea what I’m doing and no idea how it will be perceived. Thanks for your honesty, Cynthia. I’m glad you told me you think he’s a cartoon although I think all the characters here are cartoonish. I wish I could draw – I could do a comic strip.

          • But what if it’s a relative that you’re trying to sponge off?

            I’m enjoying the take on this character. I didn’t think it was possible to see him in a sympathetic light but now I’m starting to see how that’s possible. I have no idea where this is going to go from here!

"The river flows both ways." (Margaret Laurence)

