Spin-off

Rose Laine was a performance artist. While the audience watched, she knit herself into a dress made of acrylic, chunky-weight, cream-coloured tweed flecked with red, constructed on 12.75 mm needles. Occasionally the needles doubled as weapons.

No one had ever seen a gal knit herself into a dress in a strip club before. It was fast work. She came on stage with only a few rows left to knit. The audience could neither confirm nor deny the presence of her nipples jutting through the loose knit. They looked like the red tweedy bits in the wool. Obviously, well, it WAS meant to be titillating.

Her unraveling act unwound against a backdrop of grazing sheep. She pulled a loop and then unspooled, slowly of course. From the bottom up. Then stopped. Took a tippy-toed strut. Shook. Then came the top down. Stopped. Long-legged stride. Jiggled. Then a parade around the pole baaaing and bleeting as she modeled her shrunken chunky mini dress. Sometimes the audience baaaed back.

Art was mysterious.

When Harry saw her performance, he knew she was the face – and body – for their spinning business, “Twist of Fate”.

15 thoughts on “Spin-off

  1. Pingback: Long and winding | wuthering bites

    • I think that’s one of the nicest things anyone has ever said about my writing, John – “…on the intriguing edge of ridiculousness…”!

      I can’t imagine how serious everything in your world is right now. It’s frightening. My family spent 2 weeks in western Canada close to the Washington State border where everything is so dry. Many mornings we woke up to the smell of smoke. Our drive to the coast was through yellowed air and my normally verdant Vancouver Island was painted in drab browns from lack of rain. We returned to rainy Ontario and are grateful for it. Reading your posts from Dry Creek makes me aware of the cost this terrible drought is having on so many lives and livelihoods. I don’t know what the answer is but I keep hoping something in nature will change and work in your favour.

  2. Do you know it is my mistake (the first mistake I’ve ever made) and it shows you in what gutter my mind inhabits: I thought by omitting the R one got a tippy-toed slut! So just forget my foray into trying to be clever I shall get on with life!!!

    • I’ve run through the alphabet replacing “r” with every letter and I’m stumped. Are you perhaps thinking of some New Zealand slang out of reach of my tiny mind?

  3. “The audience could neither confirm nor deny the presence of her nipples jutting through the loose knit. They looked like the red tweedy bits in the wool. Obviously, well, it WAS meant to be titillating.” You always have perfect word choices! Still love your work!

"The river flows both ways." (Margaret Laurence)

