The tree

Each branch lit, the tree is up
the shortest girl reached the top
thin balls broken like eggshells broken
tinkle in the box

the shortest girl reached the top
whose turn to place the star?
tinkle in the box
I don’t care she declares

Whose turn to place the star?
Ten minutes together and it was done
I don’t care she declares
you cannot force Christmas fun

Ten minutes together and it was done
each branch lit, the tree is up
you cannot force Christmas fun
tinkle in the box.

feltstar

 

5 thoughts on “The tree

  1. I recognized it as a pantoum before you even mentioned it to Cynthia! So well done! I think it works well. The reason I recognized it was that I have been trying to create pantoum(s) for my blog in January 2016! Great minds…

  2. If you tinkle in the box the shards will stick to the wetness and there will be the aroma of cat litter.

    This is a whole lot of fun and captures the atmosphere very well I enjoyed the pattern of repeated lines, too!
    I hope you have a happy time this holiday season, Susanne, and that the new year brings many good things to you and your loved ones.

    • Oh those darn words with more than one meaning!

      This was an attempt at a “pantoum”. I’m trying to follow your fine example of using poetic forms. I even asked Santa for a book on the matter. I hope he got the message.

      Merry Christmas to you, Cynthia. I look forward to more of your beautiful poetry in 2016. Hugs to you.

"The river flows both ways." (Margaret Laurence)

