“Doubt truth to be a liar”*

ladysmockcrop

Part II (The first part can be found here.)

The scrap of paper browned and curled at the edges and a faint blue flame ringed the words “I don’t want starbursts and marble halls. I just want you.” The paper combusted as though hastened by a deep breath. Ashes fell between Harry’s fingers and floated to a white square on the black and white checkerboard linoleum where Vee rubbed them with her foot, smudging the white grey.

“I cherish you,” he said and then he sawed me in half. After that he turned me into a pelican and it took a week to pluck all the feathers out of my hair. I smelled like a wet chicken for months. In our quick change act he left me naked on stage so I pulled his top hat over my face and all the hidden scarves escaped and slid down me like Salome’s seven veils.  That was the end of the magic.

Harry listened. Through the window he watched ground mist rise as Rose fed the newest cria a handful of vitamin D pellets. Mist obscured their legs and they glided like ghosts in the paddock. He dared not blink. If he did the pools of water contained by his lower lids would flood their rims and Vee would know.

***
Kip exhaled, felt the flames glow and grow. His words burned. He smiled as Harry wept and it was good.

He whispered “Only I can cherish you.”


*Doubt thou the stars are fire;
Doubt that the sun doth move;
Doubt truth to be a liar;
But never doubt I love.”
Shakespeare – Hamlet

I’m playing the 3-day quote challenge and was inducted by Sharon at Riverbed and I thank her and encourage you to have a look at her site. This is the 2nd post for the challenge.

I’m highlighting three more bloggers and they are welcome to play or just loll in the love of new readers. Should  Down by the Dougie, Cinthia Ritchie, and Rebecca Yates, wish to play, please pick three quotes for three days and select three different nominees each day. Be sure to thank the person who nominated you and let the nominees know you’ve tagged them. Easy as dancing in the dark!

 

3 thoughts on ““Doubt truth to be a liar”*

  1. Just one of those dreamy, serpentine storylines just brimming with surprises. I didn’t want it to end! Love AOGG (the Lucy Maud Montgomery reference), those seven veils with all their capricious wit, and the charred bits smoking in Harry’s fingers as he mourned the loss of innocence. You are AMAZING!

    • I had to have some Canadian content in here somewhere so why not a classic? Harry and Vee. Their saga is never-ending. So much life to mine from both of them.

"The river flows both ways." (Margaret Laurence)

