Senectitude

nationalgallerycanada

National Gallery of Canada overlooking Parliament Hill, Ottawa, Canada

They say it’s all in your attitude but today
the calendar displays the ultimate
senectitude – time’s run out for forays.

 

This annual cleansing ritual winds down
to winking seconds, a lewd tyrant’s
frown and unglued verisimilitude.

 

They say tomorrow we are clean without
a shower or being nude but this New Year
starts in a dirty stream praying to St. Jude.

Yes, yes, I’m feeling glum. If you want good cheer, go here and here.

8 thoughts on “Senectitude

    • Mostly I try to keep my gloomy poetry to myself as it does seem a touch self-indulgent but this one was the result of the “word of the day” from Dictionary.com and you know how I love to play with words.

      Like

Comments are closed.