Blue becomes you

Sun glides over snow, checks the pulse of earth, cracks open the ribs of this black morning, revives light. Colour rises, rosy – respires.

Dawn yawns, inhales grey, exhales pink. Later, when the day dons blue we force ourselves out. For the dog. Why else venture into frozen lung territory where breath pinches nostrils, a sign not all pink is benign.

We creep across the snow crust, wish it were pie crust  we could eat instead of feeling eaten. Snow bites our feet. Where did my toes go?

We unpin icicles from the roof, chew blue, become the hue because this is what we do in winter – respire*.

___________

*I’m tinkering with the word respire which means to breathe, but also has an older definition meaning “to recover hope, courage, or strength after a time of difficulty.” I like the idea that winter is a period of recovery, not just something awful to be endured and gotten through. And of course every dawn is just that – hope for a better day.  

Here’s a musical take on blue for you, something mellow to sip your coffee by. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4PKzz81m5c – Chet Baker – Almost Blue

 

bluebecomesyou-1

Milkweed husks

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Blue becomes you

    • Isn’t it a wonder? All these words we take for granted with hidden deeper meanings. I really do need a big ol’ Oxford dictionary complete with a magnifying glass to see the tiny print and the hidden meanings.

    • Hi Rosanna! What a happy moment to see you here again – glad you found your way! This is now my primary blog. Life is full and I simply can’t maintain two anymore so this is home for me in the blogosphere. Hope all is well on your island home! Take care.

  1. Your imagery never ceases to amaze me – Dawn yawns, inhales grey, exhales pink – beautiful. I think there will be a whole of respiring being done, in the older sense of the word, in these parts on a daily basis after next Friday. Dang your winters are hard, otherwise I’d pack the house and move tomorrow 🙂

    • Ah, but winter makes summer so much sweeter! And today, hovering gently at freezing with baby blue skies, we skated on the Rideau Canal on perfect ice conditions. It ain’t all bad! As for this Friday, I just don’t know what to say – How about “May the force be with you” or “May the odds be ever in your favour.”

  2. I too like the idea that winter is a period of rest and recovery. That’s my official position for slowing down dramatically from January to March and then being a bundle of barely controlled energy in April 😉

  3. Such a good writer, you are. I love the older meaning of respire. Perfectly suited — earth’s resting verb? 😉 I have long taken the stance that winter is a rest and we should follow suit.

    • For fun, lately I’ve been paying attention to archaic definitions of words or digging into their etymology. I think I need me an old fashioned dictionary like a great big Complete Oxford or something. I haven’t yet found a single source on-line but I’ll keep looking. Thanks so much for you generous praise, Joey. It means a lot coming from a fine writer such as you!

"The river flows both ways." (Margaret Laurence)

